New Mexico | Family Law
Legal Question
I keep a log of all text messages that i get from my ex and his wife, they are trying to sue me for custody of our child. do i have any grounds to uses those messages in court?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: John Watson |
You did not say if any of the txt messages were actually related to the custody issue of your child. If they are not related then I cannot understand why you would want to use them in court. However, if they have bearing on the custody or the best interests of the child then I think you very well might want to use them in court. If he objects you argue to the judge that they are "relevant to the issues at hand." You should be prepared for him to deny that any of the texts are from him. He might say that he didn't have control over his phone 24/7. If he says that then you will have to ask questions about "who in the whole wide world" could sent you a text message from his telephone number? Sounds to me like it is either him or his girlfriend. Hmmm . . . . . .. ...
Good Luck.
Law Guru |
Top Attorneys in NM
John Watson, Attorney at Law
Las Cruces,
Questions Answered: 362
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-14
George Chandler Law
Los Alamos, NM
Questions Answered: 194
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-24
Turner Law Office
Deming, NM
Questions Answered: 23
Last Question Aswered on: 2001-09-17
The Kassakhian Law Office
Gallup, NM
Questions Answered: 13
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-15
La Casa Inc
Las Cruces, NM
Questions Answered: 4
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-09-28
Rudolph B. Chavez, Attorney at Law
Albuquerque, NM
Questions Answered:
Last Question Aswered on: 0000-00-00
BIKHMAN & VINBAYTEL PC
Brooklyn, NY
Questions Answered:
Last Question Aswered on: 0000-00-00
New Mexico Legal Group, P.C.
Albuquerque, NM
Questions Answered:
Last Question Aswered on: 0000-00-00
Search Questions and Answers


