California | Wills and Trusts
2/14/11, 7:33 pm
Legal Question
how long does it take to find out if you are one of the benificiaries on your dads life insurance
how long does it take to find out if you are one of the benificiaries on your dads life insurance
|
Read More Answered By: Chris Johnson |
You should contact the life insurance company directly to find out--they typically do not inform the beneficiaries. |
|
Read More Answered By: Jonathan Reich |
No time at all. Just contact the life insurance company and ask. They will be able to tell you if you are a beneficiary. If so, you will need to provide a copy of his death certificate. As Chris said, they won't contact you. Except under unusual circumstances, they have no way of knowing when a policy holder dies.
Good luck.
IMPORTANT NOTICE: The above response is not intended to, and does not, create an attorney-client, fiduciary or other confidential relationship with the responder. Neither does it constitute the providing of legal advice or services or the giving of a legal opinion by the responder. Such a relationship can only be created, and legal advice and/or legal services provided, pursuant to a written agreement with the responder. Accordingly, no obligations of any kind are assumed with respect to any matter or question presented. It should also be noted that legal issues are often time sensitive and legal rights may be lost or compromised if you do not act in a timely fashion. |
Walnut Creek, CA
Questions Answered: 10412
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 6347
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Union City, CA
Questions Answered: 6114
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-15
Tarzana, CA
Questions Answered: 5434
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-16
San Diego And Las Vegas, CA
Questions Answered: 2000
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Fountain Valley, CA
Questions Answered: 1776
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-04-15
Ontario, CA
Questions Answered: 1584
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-04
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 1456
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 1146
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-03
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 1120
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-02-19
► I have what I hope is a very simple question. I have a friend who recently passed...
► How do I change the executor of a trust. My mother and father had a simple trust. My...
► Does the Executor of a Will/Trust have the power to put a house up for sale when one...
► We paid our estate planning atty upfront to 'administer' the trust and sub-trust...
► How can I find the attorney who wrote my father's most recent trust in California?...
► My cousin died in December. She had a life insurance policy for $5000 on her mother...
► My father died 30 days ago and probate was JUST filed... I still do not have a court...
More Probate, Trusts, Wills & Estates questions and answers in California| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press