Illinois | Medical Malpractice
Legal Question
how long does it take to settle a malpractice case its been 6 years for my family now and is it to late to consult another attorney.
how long does it take to settle a malpractice case its been 6 years for my family now and is it to late to consult another attorney.
|
Read More Answered By: Burton Padove |
Each case has different circumstances so I cannot answer the first question, although I know of cases in Cook County that have taken that long.
You have the right to discharge your attorney at any time. The problem is that your present attorney will have to be paid an hourly rate and after 6 years that may be cost prohibitive. |
|
Read More Answered By: Nima Taradji |
You have a right to change attorneys at any time for any reason. But it is highly inadvisable.
There are no formulas and there are no time limits. The best place to inquire about your case and the reason it has taken 6 years and may take even longer is to ask your attorneys about the reason. Write down your questions and ask for a face to face meeting with the attorney who is in charge of your case. Ask your questions and ask followup questions and keep asking until you are satisfied with the reasons and you have a clear understanding of where your case is.
Lack of proper communication is the single most reason of disagreements between clients and their attorneys.
I hope this helps- |
Highland, IN
Questions Answered: 7334
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
St. Louis, MO
Questions Answered: 3776
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Chicago, IL
Questions Answered: 864
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Chicago, IL
Questions Answered: 694
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-16
Chicago, IL
Questions Answered: 627
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-03-26
Northbrook, IL
Questions Answered: 437
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-12
Chicago, IL
Questions Answered: 260
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-26
Wheaton, IL
Questions Answered: 257
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-19
Naperville, IL
Questions Answered: 239
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-11
Chicago, IL
Questions Answered: 233
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-02-17
► My stepfather was involved in a wrongful death i have four other sibling i am not...
► I had at a tonsillectomy, septoplasty, and a turbinate reduction performed on me in...
► Need Legal Advice for Disabled guy? Hello, i need some legal advise please. I went...
► If a 501(c)3 organization officially endorses a doctor, can the organization be held...
► I had a sleep study done and was diagnosed with mild to moderate sleep apnea, I went...
► What is the best way to receive the medical records of a relative from a hospital...
► I am paying my lawyer 1/3 of my settlement. If he hires/works with another lawyer,...
More Medical Malpractice Law questions and answers in Illinois| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press