California | Real Estate Law
Legal Question
How long do you have to get a tenant out of a property that you just purchased? I've 60 and 90 days, but I would like to know what is the correct time frame.
How long do you have to get a tenant out of a property that you just purchased? I've 60 and 90 days, but I would like to know what is the correct time frame.
|
Read More Answered By: Terry A. Nelson |
A little practical advice. Since you do not know the rules and procedures, you should hire an eviction 'help' service or eviction attorney to do this right. Eviction is mind numbingly detail oriented, and the court will deny your claim if there is ANY mistake or failure in your notices, pleadings or procedures. That would result in you starting all over, delaying getting back your property. Check the internet search, or call the local Lawyers Referral Service for names. |
|
Read More Answered By: Timothy McCormick |
You have as long as you want. If you mean how long do you have to give them to move out, that depends on how you acquired the property, how long they have been in the property, and whether they have a lease or are on a month-to-month tenancy. If you acquired the property by foreclosure, you must give them 90 days or to the end of their lease, whichever is longer. If you bought the property through a normal sale transaction, you have to let them stay to the end of their lease if they have one. If they are month to month, you have to give them 30-days notice if they have been in the property less than a year, and 60 days if more than a year. This all assumes they continue to pay rent and otherwise do not breach their lease or rental agreement. If they don't pay rent or commit a non-curable breach of the lease, then its the same as any landlord/tenant - you proceed with eviction. If you give them proper notice and they refuse to leave, you also have to file an eviction proceeding. Mr. Nelson is right that you don't want to do that yourself unless you REALLY know what you are doing. |
Huntington Beach, CA
Questions Answered: 13885
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Tomales, CA
Questions Answered: 12213
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Walnut Creek, CA
Questions Answered: 10414
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
San Jose, CA
Questions Answered: 6614
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Union City, CA
Questions Answered: 6114
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-15
Tarzana, CA
Questions Answered: 5434
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-16
San Clemente, CA
Questions Answered: 2089
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-07
San Diego And Las Vegas, CA
Questions Answered: 2000
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Orange, CA
Questions Answered: 1596
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-27
Ontario, CA
Questions Answered: 1584
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-04
► My father in law quit claim deeded 13 pieces of property to my husband he has...
► Are capital gains taxes to be paid upon the execution of a life estate?
► During a rain storm water from a HOA maintained slope overflowed a retaining wall...
► I am moving from my current apartment to another building owned by the same company....
► I own a home in California as tenants in common with a friend and it's currently in...
► If joint tenancy in California requires • All tenants acquired the property at the...
► My question concerns the refund on a tenant's deposit. My tenant had a pet that was...
More Real Estate and Real Property questions and answers in California| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press