Wisconsin | DUI Law
Legal Question
I lost my DL june 9th of 09.7th offense.I was told I could getit back in 3years.the inter lock started at conviction on 6/9/09 .I was told I was grandfathered in,so dont have to have interlock after the 3 yrs is up.Is this true?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Jay K. Nixon |
After a seventh offense drunken driving in Wisconsin, you are likely to have an extremely difficult time ever getting your license back, either with or without an ignition interlock installed in your vehicle. As a practical matter, I would therefore recommend that you ask the department of transportation this question, since they will probably have some other extremely difficult requirements, such as driver safety plan requiring absolute sobriety along with monitoring of your compliance by an outside agency at your expense. There is a chance that these requirements may be so burdensome that you would be better off giving up driving and use other methods of transportation instead (such as a bicycle or public transportation). Even if you are grandfathered from any particular law requiring an interlock, the DMV is likely to include such a requirement as a part of your driver's safety plan, which they are probably authorized by law to require, depending upon the needs of your case. However, it may be worth your while to schedule a consultation with an experienced traffic attorney to see if there is any hope. My comments in this public web forum are intended only for public educational purposes and are not legal advice specifically tailored to you and your case. Instead, you should retain a lawyer in order to meet your legal needs, since I will be taking no action on your case. Disclosure of confidential information in a public web forum is not recommended and is always subject to being used against you in court. You are welcome to contact my Racine, WI office at 262-633-3090 or email me at nixon@execpc.com for further information. Web forum answers may contain attorney advertising materials. |
Top Attorneys in WI
NIXON LAW OFFICES
Racine, WI
Questions Answered: 1468
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Law Office of Joseph Laumann, PA
Annapolis, MD
Questions Answered: 124
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-06-11
Attorney at Law
Minneapolis, MN
Questions Answered: 24
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-07-06
Robert T. Ruth, Attorney at Law
Madison, WI
Questions Answered: 9
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-03-23
Law Office of Sandra Glodowski
Baraboo, WI
Questions Answered: 8
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-03-28
Appellate Counsel
Madison, WI
Questions Answered: 6
Last Question Aswered on: 2003-09-10
Lakeland Law Firm, LLC
Pewaukee, WI
Questions Answered: 3
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-02-11
Law Offices of Andrew Mishlove
Milwaukee, WI
Questions Answered: 3
Last Question Aswered on: 2002-06-23
Law Office of Sydne French
Brookfield, WI
Questions Answered: 2
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-03-28
Law Offices of John T. Bayer
Milwaukee, WI
Questions Answered:
Last Question Aswered on: 0000-00-00
Search Questions and Answers


