Louisiana | Family Law
Legal Question
In louisiana if a person can not show proof of a devorce and lies on the papers to get remarried is the second marrige legal?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Nick Pizzolatto, Jr. |
The 2nd marriage is only legal if there was no impediment to its being a valid marriage. It is bigamy if a person enters into another marriage while still legally married to someone else. Just because there is no proof now of a divorce does not mean one was not obtained. If a divorce was indeed procured, then it does exist in the courthouse of the Parish or County where it was granted. The clerk of court of the particular Parish/County can easily confirm if a divorce was obtained. A phone call ought to do it. It is a valid marriage as to the 2nd spouse however, if the second spouse honestly thought they were entering into a legally valid marriage. |
Top Attorneys in LA
Pizzolatto Law Office
Lake Charles, LA
Questions Answered: 3157
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-14
Mandie Seale Lucas
Ventress, LA
Questions Answered: 1605
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Andrew M. Casanave
Lake Charles, LA
Questions Answered: 1356
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
The Louque Law Firm, L.L.C.
Thibodaux, LA
Questions Answered: 234
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-03-08
Steve LeBlanc, Ltd., (APLC)
Baton Rouge, LA
Questions Answered: 227
Last Question Aswered on: 2006-10-18
Vidrine Law Firm, PLC
Tucson, AZ
Questions Answered: 28
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-06
Attorney Office
Lake Charles, LA
Questions Answered: 18
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-27
Law Offices of David C. Hesser
Shreveport, LA
Questions Answered: 18
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-09-08
Alex Simanovsky & Associates, LLC
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 17
Last Question Aswered on: 2000-10-18
Ohlmeyer & Ohlmeyer
New Orleans, LA
Questions Answered: 16
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-07-11
Search Questions and Answers


