Massachusetts | Wills and Trusts
Legal Question
ma. family trust, trustee threatening to kick beneficiaries out of trust property all the time
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Georg LaBonte |
Although I don't fully understand your question, I will attempt to give you a few answers, as to possible solutions.
1) If the Trustee is also the Settlor/Grantor of the Trust, and it is a Revocable Trust, then the threat may very well be real, and using his/her Grantor powers, could ultimately revoke or amend the Trust to exclude particular beneficiaries.
2) If the Trust is an Irrevocable one, by it's language, or by death of the Settlor/Grantor, then the Trustee is limited to only those powers outlined in the Trust and he/she may not arbitrarily or unilaterally alter, amend, revoke or de-vest any of the vested beneficial interests.
It sounds like by "kick out" you may be referencing a residential property held in Trust, the Trustee may have special powers to sell or rent the property, it would be in your best interest to consult with an experienced Trusts and Estates attorney to determine your rights.
You may be able to remove the current Trustee, and replace him/her with someone that will uphold the Trust provisions, and not take advantage or abuse their powers as Trustee.
I would be willing to help you in this matter, please give me a call at 617.458.6593, for a free consultation.
Regards, |
Top Attorneys in MA
Law Offices of Henry Lebensbaum (978-749-3606)
Andover, MA
Questions Answered: 4048
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
Donovan Hatem LLP
Boston, MA
Questions Answered: 2954
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
VAUGHN-MARTEL LAW
Boston, MA
Questions Answered: 1899
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-17
Joseph M. Murray, Esq.
East Bridgewater, MA
Questions Answered: 1716
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-15
Law Office of Alan J. Pransky
Dedham, MA
Questions Answered: 858
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-16
Law Offices of Jameson & Cooper
Wellesley, MA
Questions Answered: 373
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-08-27
Attorney Paul Lancia
Fall River, MA
Questions Answered: 372
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-03-27
Golden Law Center
Needham, MA
Questions Answered: 358
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-10
Law Offices of Jonas Jacobson
Boston, MA
Questions Answered: 231
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-10
Infinity Law Group
Quincy, MA
Questions Answered: 226
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-07-17
Search Questions and Answers


