Pennsylvania | Civil Litigation
Legal Question
I'll try to make a long story short. I'm disabled and on kidney dialysis. My son had been living in a house that I owned for 3 years as I had another house that I was living in. In May of 2009 I sold a house to a person, I didn't use a realtor. Within the first 2 weeks after the buyer took possession of the house, she completely stripped out the entire interior of the house. The strange part of it is, there wasn't anything wrong with it. In Dec. of 2009 we received a notice that she was suing us, myself, my husband and my son. She claimed that she found mold in the house that we didn't tell her about and that we tried to hide it from her. She claims that she first noticed it in July of 2009, well after she ripped out all of the wall covering, ceiling and insulation in the house. The worst thing about the lawsuit is, she is claiming fraud among other charges, for a total of over $600,000. I sold her the house for only $135,000. I had an attorney until he dropped us because I could pay enough on his bill each month. Now I can't afford to hire another attorney and I nor my husband or son are able to represent ourselves. My question is if I lose the case and this person gets a judgement against me, can I keep my house and car, which I need to get to kidney dialysis. I know fraud charges are not dismissible if I file bankruptcy, so that isn't an option for me. And to make matters worse, the attorney that I had has threatened to file suit for the money that I owe him. My mane is Mary and I live in Pennsylvania. If you know of any organizations in Pa. that could help me, I would greatly appreciate it. Thanks


