Arizona | Employment Law
Legal Question
was my manager allowed to coerce into falsely stating that i was voluntarily quiting, and if that jeopardizes my unemployment claim.
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Donald W. Hudspeth |
This is a common problem; that is, the employer claiming the employee quit to avoid the unemployment claim. This is not something we do everyday, but some general comments for what they are worth: 1. Don't sign anything that says you quit. 2. Groom witnesses who know you didn't quit by observing events at the time or at least your conduct at the time (people who quit may act more calmly with less obvious distress than those who are fired). 3. If you signed something (#1) revoke it in writing, saying signed under threat of non-payment of wages or lack of reference -whatever the facts were. 4. Do a letter or written note to employer saying that you did not quit -ready to work tomorrow -save a copy for later hearing. 5. Request hearing. Hope this helps. GOOD LUCK! Law Offices of Donald W. Hudspeth, P.C. 3030 North Central Avenue, Suite 604 Phoenix, Arizona 85012 Direct DWH@azbuslaw.com AzBusConsulting@aol.com Firm TheFirm@azbuslaw.com Ph 602.265.7997 Fax 602.265.6099 Web site www.azbuslaw.com follow us on Twitter at DonaldWHudspeth
|
Top Attorneys in AZ
The Law Offices of Donald W. Hudspeth, P.C.
Phoenix, AZ
Questions Answered: 311
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-01
TheCorporateAttorneys.com
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 291
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Patterson Johnson-Stovall & Crenshaw PLLC
Phoenix, AZ
Questions Answered: 178
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Law Office of Michael D.J. Eisenberg, Attorney and Counselor at Law
Washington, DC
Questions Answered: 155
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-18
Law Offices of Keith Knochel
Bullhead City, AZ
Questions Answered: 145
Last Question Aswered on: 2004-06-25
W. Blake Simms, P.C.
Tempe, AZ
Questions Answered: 129
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-07
Lance S. Davidson, P.C.
Scottsdale, AZ
Questions Answered: 68
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-06-07
Nachman & Associates, P.C.
Ridgewood, NJ
Questions Answered: 38
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-08-12
Vidrine Law Firm, PLC
Tucson, AZ
Questions Answered: 28
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-06
The Gonzalez Law Office
Tucson, AZ
Questions Answered: 17
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-07-31
Search Questions and Answers


