Georgia | DUI Law
Legal Question
My manager's son was found with enough pot that it's a felony. He also had scales so they assume he was dealing. It is his 1st time in trouble. Will he qualify for PTI since it's a felony?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: S. Carlton Rouse |
Pretrial court intervention, also called pretrial diversion or deferred prosecution, is a court program used in many states. The program allows first-time offenders to keep an incident off of their record without having to win their case at trial. It gives a person accused of a crime, who has never been arrested before, a chance to avoid being branded with a felony conviction for the rest of his life.
There is hope...the manager's son may very well get pretrial intervention. In Georgia, pretrial intervention programs vary but they usually have the similar basic features, i.e. they require that (1) the person must not have a prior arrest record; (2) the offense charged is minor, e.g. theft, drug possession, etc.; (3) the person charged is unlikely to offend again, due to age, characteristics, etc.
In sum the PTI program gives a second chance to individuals who made severely poor choices without the taint/stigma of a felony/misdemeanor conviction.
Should you require additional information or if you wish to contact the firm, visit us online at:
http://www.rousecolaw.com
Best of luck, |
Top Attorneys in GA
Ashman Law Office
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 8772
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Scott B. Riddle, Attorney
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 5577
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Charles W. Field, Attorney at Law
Lawrenceville (north Atlanta), GA
Questions Answered: 3531
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-05-27
Law Office of John A. Jackson, P.C.
Charleston, SC
Questions Answered: 720
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Thomas J. Hough, Jr., P.C.
Cartersville, GA
Questions Answered: 237
Last Question Aswered on: 2005-03-13
VILLANI& ASSOCIATES, P.C.
Gainesville, GA
Questions Answered: 179
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-10-27
Martin G. Hilliard, PC
Savannah, GA
Questions Answered: 166
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-05-19
Tomlinson & Associates, LLC
Richmond Hill, GA
Questions Answered: 141
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-22
Law Offices of Cyrus K. Malekabadi
Alpharetta, GA
Questions Answered: 140
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-10
Tran Lankford, Attorney at Law
Decatur, GA
Questions Answered: 136
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-13
Search Questions and Answers


