Maryland | DUI Law
Legal Question
In March 2006, I received a DUI in the state of Maryland. I had just moved to Maryland and still possessed my PA drivers license. In April 2006, I applied to Maryland and received my Maryland Drivers license, and surrendered my license to Maryland. I went to renew my Maryland License last week, and was denied. I was instructed to call Penn Dot. I found that I never served my 1 year suspension of my license and could not renew. Penn Dot says I must now serve this suspension. Penn Dot claims that I never sent them the Acknowledgement of Suspension form. I Informed them I never received it. They said too bad. I also asked them to verify where they may have sent it. After some digging, I found that they indeed DID NOT send it to any of my last three addresses. Not the one previous to my DUI, the current, and obviously not the latter. My question is, IS this fair? Is there no way to get around going without my license for a year knowing they DID NOT send my the necessary information nearly 5 years ago to get this rectified? Many thanks for your time and I am sorry to bother whoever reads this. I am terribly frustrated and am sick of state governments, "doing no wrong". My wife is a cop, and She even says that this is right.


