Maryland | Family Law
Legal Question
I married a Canadian Citizen.. I am a US citizen. We were married in the Us. I want a divorce Where legally should I get the divorce?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Aaron Suero Pedersini |
It depends where are you residing now and since when you are residing in said place.
Also, if your husband is in consent to file for divorce and he will sign all necessary documents prior filing the divorce action, you can take advantage of the DR Divorce Law 142 that allows foreign citizens, who are in consent, who sign all necessary documents and at least one of the appear in person before the judge at the hearing, to file for a Fast Divorce by mutual consent in the Dominican Republic and get divorced in as little as 3 weeks. This is the fastest and easiest way to get divorced, no matter where you live.
For additional information on the Dominican fast divorce by mutual consent, please visit the following websites:
The Embassy of the United States on Divorce by mutual consent for US citizens (bottom of the page); http://santodomingo.usembassy.gov/divorce_dr_mc.html
The U.S. Department of State on divorces overseas; http://travel.state.gov/law/family_issues/divorce/divorce_592.html
The Fastest Way to get divorced Worldwide: http://www.dfastdivorce.com
The Dominican Republic Embassy in Washington, DC http://www.domrep.org/divorce.html
|
Top Attorneys in MD
Wagshal and Sher
Bethesda, MD
Questions Answered: 3886
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Law Offices of G. Joseph Holthaus
Ellicott City, MD
Questions Answered: 1946
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-17
Attorney at Law
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 1010
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-13
Steven J. Scheinin, Lawyer
Towson, MD
Questions Answered: 594
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
Paula McGill Attorney at Law
Bethesda, MD
Questions Answered: 577
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-11
Chung & Press. P.C.
Cumberland, MD
Questions Answered: 468
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-06-08
Law Office of William C. Wood, LLC
Ellicott City, MD
Questions Answered: 403
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-25
Joseph, Greenwald & Laake, P.A.
Greenbelt, MD
Questions Answered: 351
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-07
Alan S. Albin, Attorney at Law
Morristown, NJ
Questions Answered: 351
Last Question Aswered on: 2005-05-13
Law Office of Thomas K. Brown, LLC
Rockville, MD
Questions Answered: 156
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-05-27
Search Questions and Answers


