California | Family Law
Legal Question
A never married couple that has one child together.
I am a bit confused how child support is calculated for the non-custodial parent when it comes to his assets (non-marital assets he had before we met): His house, savings, stocks (Stocks that are not tied into his employment). If the non-custodial parent is working but NOT making a lot f money, and has a lot of money in stocks (stocks he purchased before we met and had a baby), will the court force a sale of his assets or stocks (non-marital assets) to pay more in child support? I do not think it is fair to only receive support based off his income. Again this refers to his own personal assets he obtained before we met and had a child, as we were never married. Thank you.


