Texas  |  Family Law

question bubble
2/04/12, 6:21 am

Legal Question


Hi, I married my husband 10 years ago (and I am still married) but our marriage certificate is a foreign one and we have a religion certificate of marriage translated.I got my US nationality from my marriage.We never did a legal US certificate of marriage I mean civil marriage.Should I have to do one to be considered legally married in US? or the document I have like the ones mentioned before or the filled jointly taxes is enough as prove for marriage? Am I considered legally his wife even if I kept my maiden name and not having a civil marriage?what about social security benefits from my husband later on,do I have a problem with that?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search