Alabama | Wills and Trusts
3/03/11, 2:35 pm
Legal Question
If a married man dies without a will is his wife entitled to more than his bio children?
If a married man dies without a will is his wife entitled to more than his bio children?
|
Read More Answered By: Rodney Edmondson |
Possibly, to answer your question, one must know the monetary value of the Estate and whether the children are also children of the wife or just his. If your asking for yourself, regardless of whether the answer is what you want it to be, it is best to have a will in place if you have property which will pass through your estate in that it will be much easier and cost less for your family to probate your will in Marshall County than probating your estate without a will. I would suggest speaking with an attorney who handles probate issues to advise you. |
|
Read More Answered By: James Coleman |
If there is no will, and the wife is not the mother of the children, the wife gets 1/2 and the children get 1/2 under the rules of intestacy. I have not addressed the exclusions that the wife may also get. They are relative minor.
If the wife is the mother of the children, she take all.
I agree with Mr Edmondson, talk to an attorney. |
Birmingham, AL
Questions Answered: 1215
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Birmingham, AL
Questions Answered: 687
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-26
Bangalore,
Questions Answered: 416
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Foley, AL
Questions Answered: 390
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-14
Hoover, AL
Questions Answered: 383
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-14
Birmingham, AL
Questions Answered: 252
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-19
Birmingham, AL
Questions Answered: 43
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-10-22
Albertville, AL
Questions Answered: 42
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-04-06
Jacksonville, AL
Questions Answered: 41
Last Question Aswered on: 2000-09-23
Guntersville, AL
Questions Answered: 24
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
► One of my brother's is asking me to sign a "Waiver of Probate of Will"....
► I got a letter titled Warranty Deed to Establish Right of Suvivorship papers in mail...
► How do I get a copy of my mother will that lived in Florala Al who has since pasted...
► My late husband and I lived in California 11 years ago and he opened an investment...
► My father had his Will prepared by an attorney in a county he did not live in. After...
► My moms dad died in 2008. he had a second wife. A few weeks ago she died. my...
► I am looking for a will,i type one yesterday,because i have to put a friend to be...
More Probate, Trusts, Wills & Estates questions and answers in Alabama| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press