California  |  Consumer Law

question bubble
1/19/11, 10:18 am

Legal Question


I am a member of Costco. I recently purchased a television from there. What occurred is the following: I saw the television that I liked however it was the last one and was out of the box. I saw a salesman on the floor and he said he would discount it. I told him I wanted it, but I wanted to do some comparison shopping before I bought it. I asked if he could hold it and I would be back in an hour. He said he would. When I came back in an hour the tv was on a dolly and was up at customer service. I decided that I wanted it and took it to the register. There was a coupon for that tv in the coupon books that Costco had sent to the public. I asked the cashier if I could use it and she said yes. The transaction was made I paid for it and left. A week later, Costco calls and says there was a mistake and I shouldn't have been given the extra coupon discount and would like me to either return the tv or give them the coupon discount of $500.00. I told them I felt that was unfair and they said they would suspend my membership until I paid them. Is this legal?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search