Virginia | Civil Rights Law
Legal Question
I am a minister and I pastor a church. I was recently hired by a company and was upfront regarding my "other" profession. The company normally does not work on Sundays, the day I need to be in church to perform my pastoral duties. I have done some investigation and found Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of l964, and gave it to my supervisor with her response that although there are three of us employee's doing a job that would not bring hardship to the company if I would miss on Sunday, she stated that it would although we ae not in any part producing a product or any maintenance job, etc. Using Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of l964 can my employer discipline me or insist I work on Sunday?


