New York | Intellectual Property
Legal Question
My minor daughter was used on promotional material for a short film without my consent. It is just the back of her but I did not sign any release forms for this photo. This short film has now been entered into a film festival. Do I have a case and can I sue?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Nancy Delain |
The answer to your question depends on several pieces of information that your post does not provide. These are just a few of them:
1. You say that just her back shows in the film. Is your daughter's image recognizable in the film as being that of your daughter?
2. Is your daughter famous (Lindsay Lohan is "famous"; Princess Di was "famous"; most people are not "famous")?
3. Is the film in any way deleterious to your daughter's reputation for having appeared in it?
4. Is your daughter in the film for more than a few seconds?
These are a few of many "knock-out" questions that touch on a couple of possible causes of action. If you can answer "yes" to any of them, you need to bite the bullet and have an evaluation of your daughter's case done by a live lawyer (not by the freebie message boards; set up an appointment and talk to a human being) of the potential for YOUR DAUGHTER (not you; you're not the injured party) to recover any damages (you would sue in her name, but any recovery would go into a trust fund that the court oversees for her health, education, maintenance and welfare until she's 18, at which point any money in that fund goes to her, not to you). Don't wait too long; there is a statute of limitations in play here. Call my office at 518-371-4599 to set up a phone interview to evaluate your daughter's case.
THIS POST CONTAINS GENERAL INFORMATION AND IS INTENDED FOR ENTERTAINMENT PURPOSES ONLY. IT DOES NOT CONSTITUTE LEGAL ADVICE, NOR DOES IT CREATE ANY ATTORNEY-CLIENT RELATIONSHIP. FOR LEGAL ADVICE ON YOUR PARTICULAR MATTER, CONSULT YOUR ATTORNEY. |
Top Attorneys in NY
David L. Leon, P.C.
Dallas, TX
Questions Answered: 1828
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
David A. Browde, P.C.
Chappaqua, NY
Questions Answered: 1595
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Gonzalez Law Associates P.C.
New York, NY
Questions Answered: 1374
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-14
The Law Offices of Anthony J. Colleluori & Associates PLLC
Woodbury, NY
Questions Answered: 1371
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-10-02
Law Office of David Watkins
Closter, NJ
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Delain Law Office, PLLC
Schenectady, NY
Questions Answered: 944
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Ashman Law Offices, LLC
Chicago, IL
Questions Answered: 503
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-05-08
Michael D. Stewart
Miami, FL
Questions Answered: 495
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-07-02
Frenkel Sukhman LLP
White Plains, NY
Questions Answered: 364
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-09
Search Questions and Answers


