New York | Wills and Trusts
Legal Question
My mom in law keeps saying that her will says that she is going to leave a very large and expeinsive diamond ring to her daughter. She says that her will states that if her daughter does not have any female heirs that when her daughter is "done" with it she must pass it to her niece (my daughter). This doesn't seem kosher to me. It seems that if she leaves the ring to her daughter, it's HER ring now and she can do with it as she pleases. I think my mom in law is just saying this to irk people, but I can't find proof. Not only that, but I don't want any stress in the relationship between her daughter (my SIL) and my daughter (SIL's niece). If this is not Kosher I will fully support (when the time comes) that the ridiculous ring belongs to my SIL and that my daughter has no part in it. We could care less about the bloody diamond. We (SIL and I)live in Ohio, but mom in law lives in NY so I believe NY law would apply.


