California | Insurance Law
Legal Question
My mom made a claim for a car accident that happened last month (she was not at fault.) The damage was merely COSMETIC and was estimated at $2500-2800. Her car insurance company valued her car at $1800, and disregarded a letter she sent them about 4 similar cars that had recently sold for $3500-5500. She included the vehicle identification number of each of those cars. Instead of acknowleging the higher values, they ignored her letter, changed her title to "salvaged" with DMV, and mailed her a check. She will be sending the check back.
Can they legally bully someone into taking an offer?! She has signed no documents at all. But could they tow her car just because they've sent a check?!What can she do to stop this salvage process? Can she close the claim and have the salvage title removed?
Experienced California Attorneys
At the Law Offices of Eslamboly & Barlavi we handle most types of Personal Injury Cases and Tort cases including: automobile, truck, motorcycle, pedestrian, bike, and slip and fall accidents, dog bites, wrongful death, legal malpractice, medical malpractice and products liability cases. We only get paid if we recover compensation for you. Visit our website or call 1-800-LAW-TALK.


