Illinois | Real Estate Law
1/19/12, 12:39 pm
Legal Question
how much money do you need in escrow after everything paid at the end of the year and who can get the over
how much money do you need in escrow after everything paid at the end of the year and who can get the over
|
Read More Answered By: Henry Repay |
Your lender will typically complete an analysis after the second installment of the property tax is paid. After applying a cushion, you will usually be offered alternatives with any excess funds (reduce escrow payments over the next year, apply to principal, get a refund, leave in). You should pay attention to the escrow analysis when you receive it. If you feel there is more than a reasonable cushion, you might try to contact the lender to review options. Exact requirements and calculations are beyond the scope of this page. |
|
Read More Answered By: Thomas Moens |
I am assuming you are referring to your tax and insurance escrow for your real estate loan. Lenders are allowed a "cushion" of two months of your taxes and insurance. If there is more than this at the end of the year, your lender will ask if you would like a refund, keep it in the escrow account, or possibly even apply it to your loan. If there is less than that, the lender will want a check from you, and your total payment may be increased to reflect this. |
Highland, IN
Questions Answered: 7334
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
St. Louis, MO
Questions Answered: 3776
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Moline, IL
Questions Answered: 2176
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Chicago, IL
Questions Answered: 1722
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Chicago,
Questions Answered: 1259
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-22
Orlando, FL
Questions Answered: 1172
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-02
Roselle, IL
Questions Answered: 1079
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-06-30
Chicago, IL
Questions Answered: 694
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-16
Chicago, IL
Questions Answered: 627
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-03-26
Chicago, IL
Questions Answered: 503
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-05-08
► I specifically requested a reaffirmation agreement for my Bank of America mortgage...
► I am buying a foreclosed townhome, am I responsible for the 6 months of past due...
► We have received a foreclosure summons the same time we were told we were approved...
► I received a Notice of Motion for a foreclosure on property in Illinois that I sold...
► Are previous owners listed as defendents on foreclosure paperwork along with current...
► What I can do if the president of our small assosiation doesn't show us any...
► I received a "Notice of Attorneys Lien" in the regular mail. There is no...
More Real Estate and Real Property questions and answers in Illinois| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press