California | Bankruptcy
Legal Question
can my mortgage be restructured by filling bankruptcy
Legal Answers
|
Read More Answered By: Douglas A. Crowder |
Yes and no, depending on what restructuring you want.
In a Chapter 13, you can pay off the arrears on the first mortgage over a period of 5 years, but you will have to make any future mortgage payments as they become due. For example, if you owe $10,000 in back payments, and the monthly payments are $1,000, and you file a Chapter 13 on June 15, then you can pay the $10,000 over a period of 5 years, but the next monthly payment of $1,000 must be paid on July 1.
Also, if you have a second mortgage that is totally unsecured, you can "strip" it in a Chapter 13, meaning paying it off at pennies on the dollar. |
|
Read More Answered By: Tony Carballo |
A first mortgage on your home cannot be restructured (assuming you mean that the amount owed can be reduced, the length of the loan changed or the interest rate lowered). If you are behind on payments then those arrears (back payments owed) can be paid in a Chapter 13 plan over up to five years to stop or prevent foreclosure. Second or third mortgages on you home can be eliminated completely (voided) if the value of your home is less than the total amount owed on the first mortgage. This applies to your home only. On investment real estate such as rental property you might own the first cannot be restructured because you would have to pay the entire amount in the plan and that is not generally possible in a maximum of five years unless the amount is so small that could be paid completely in the plan. Same situation generally applies to second and third mortgages on investment property in Chapter 13 cases. You need to have a consultation with a bankruptcy attorney because this area is very complex and a lot of variation on how the courts in different districts and the trustee in different divisions of the courts interpret the law and have local policy on what is acceptable and not in bad faith. |
Top Attorneys in CA
Law Office of Robert F. Cohen
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 6347
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
The Gibbs Law Firm, APC
San Clemente, CA
Questions Answered: 2089
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-07
Law Offices of Carl H. Starrett II
El Cajon, CA
Questions Answered: 1888
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-09
Law Office Of Robert McCoy
Ontario, CA
Questions Answered: 1584
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-04
James E. Smith Ltd.
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 1456
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Charles Andersen, Atty
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 1032
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Law Office of Larry L. Doan
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 899
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-09-30
Law Offices of Roy A. Hoffman
Moreno Valley, CA
Questions Answered: 823
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-12
Law Office of Mark J. Markus
Studio City, CA
Questions Answered: 804
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-17
San Diego Law Office
San Diego And Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Search Questions and Answers


