Texas | Real Estate Law
Legal Question
How can I get a mortgage that I signed a quit claim deed on off my credit? My ex wife refuses to refinance the mortgage in her name only.
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: David Leon |
Short answer, you can't. When you applied for credit as a couple, the bank agreed on the condition that both of you would be responsible. The bank isn't a party to the divorce, so therefore, they don't have to let you off the loan. If the ex doesn't want to refinance or sell, you're stuck. You can check the divorce decree and see if it compels her to refinance or sell by a certain date. If she failed to do that, maybe you can file an action in court. |
Top Attorneys in TX
McLeaish&Associates;, P.C.
Duncanville, TX
Questions Answered: 2501
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
David L. Leon, P.C.
Dallas, TX
Questions Answered: 1828
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
The Ryals Law Firm
Birmingham, AL
Questions Answered: 1216
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
The Lee Law Firm
Austin, TX
Questions Answered: 567
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Law office of Basil Hoyl
Bedford, TX
Questions Answered: 422
Last Question Aswered on: 2005-05-06
Cheng Copeland PLLC
Houston, TX
Questions Answered: 419
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-24
Attorney at Law
Houston, TX
Questions Answered: 281
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-11
Pfister & Associates
Frisco, TX
Questions Answered: 229
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-10-10
Bennett, Weston, & LaJone, P.C.
Dallas, TX
Questions Answered: 131
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-08-15
Search Questions and Answers


