Virginia | Bankruptcy
Legal Question
I need help. I mortgaged a house for a friend back in 2005. His mother (now 85) put down her life savings $250,000 and I mortgaged the rest as a favor (stupid I know, but that's not the point).
I got in financial problems an sought an attorney to declare bankruptcy, but told him that the house was for sale but the equity wasn't mine and that I didnt' want to jeopardize her money in any way should the house sell.
Now the trustee won't let us close on the house and is trying to take half of the equity to pay my debts. If he takes half of this woman's money, not only will I just never forgive myself, but how can I possibly recover it? Would I even have a case to try to sue my bankruptcy attorney to make him pay? I would have waited to declare if he hadn't told me not to worry about it.
In addition, my friends mom has every right to turn around and sue me for the other half, which WAS NOT put in the bankruptcy filing b/c of what the attorney said. Now she has no claim to the other half in bankruptcy AND I won't be able to dismiss that debt in the bankruptcy defeating the whole purpose of filing to begin with. I could just die!!


