Illinois  |  Elder Law

question bubble
2/05/12, 1:58 pm

Legal Question


My mother and her brother is co-owners of a 2 flat building which he lives in one unit she in the other. My mom has alzheimer's and was recently put in a nursing facility. I have POA regarding her affairs and health care. The problem is her brother refuse to allow me entry into her unit to retrieve her personal belongings. I have tried on several occassions and he has called the police on me. I showed the officer my POA and they will not enforce it because they say I don't live there. I have to purchase new clothes ect for my mom not to mention I can't get other personal family items...I am unemployed and cannot afford an attorney what can I do to make my uncle honor my POA!


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search