Virginia | Wills and Trusts
Legal Question
My mother has a deed for burial lots that had been purchased by her parents. Theirs are the names on the deed but they are both deceased. I am not aware of any will that specified to whom the lots should go to. As their only living heir, does she have the legal right in Virginia to sell these lots? And since I am her legal guardian and POA, can I sell them on her behalf? The cemetary is telling me this is illegal, but a friend who is a funeral director told me this is fine.
Thank you for your assistance.


