Florida  |  Elder Law

question bubble
12/26/11, 5:32 am

Legal Question


My mother is in a nursing home and we don't believe she will be able to go back home. At best she will be able to transition into the assisted living. I have hired a Medicaid professional to help her protect her assets and apply for and/get Medicaid. The Medicaid professional is asking me to sign a contract with my mother which essentially puts responsibility for her care on me - which he says will be fine because Medicaid will pay for her care when she is approved. My concerns are that he says I have to report this as my taxable income, that I have to take title to any of her non-exempt property (a mobile home, $5K piece of raw land and her conversion van). He says he does these transactions all the time and they are a legimate way to protect my Mom's assets. I am concerned about the affect on me. Please comment. Thank you.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search