California | Wills and Trusts
Legal Question
My mother passed away in 2002, and we thought her will left everything to a women's shelter. We recently received a letter from an asset recovery company notifying us of unclaimed assets in my mother's name, and offering to get the assets for a small fee (10% of recovered assets). Are these unclaimed assets covered under her will? If not, can we claim them? My brother and I are her only heirs, although my brother wants nothing to do with these assets. I do not have a copy of her will, and neither my brother or I were named trustees of her will.


