Pennsylvania | Wills and Trusts
Legal Question
Please help! My mother passed away on 11/13/11. She had a will that had been prepared in 1990 leaving everything to my father (her husband at that time); and then to me and my sister if my father was not still living. My mother and father divorced in 2004 and they have both remarried. My step-father (mother's current husband) insists that all of my mother's belonings, real estate, accounts, etc. belong to him only. He states that he is going to prepare his will that if he passes, that everything will get split 20% among me, my sister, and his 3 children from his previous marriage. This does not seem fair, in that the real estate (house) was the house that my sister and I grew up in and was built and paid for by my mother and father for 29 years. My step father and mother were married for 5 years, and he believes that he gets everything...somehow this does not seem right. My stepfather believes that since my mother's Will was from 1990 and was prepared prior to their marriage, that the will is invalid. Is this true? Should my sister and I obtain an attorney, and if so what steps will need to be taken?


