Florida  |  Real Estate Law

question bubble
1/31/12, 12:44 pm

Legal Question


My mother is going to will her house to my brother & I, 50/50. She's quite elderly and may not have much more time with us. My brother plans to use it at his retirement home. I live overseas with my wife and don't really feel any need to have any long term ties to the property. It's quite valuable as it's very close to a popular gulf beach. My questions are:

1. He will want to make some serious changes to the property once he settles down here for good. Can he improve on the property without my permission ?

2. Would it be best if he "buys me out" from my 1/2 of the property once the title changes hands from our mom to him & I ?

Thanks for your help.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search