Pennsylvania | Real Estate Law
Legal Question
We are getting my mother-in-law home in order and recently discovered that when she purchased the house back in 1962 the real estate transfer was never actually recorded at the courthouse . The only thing that she has was the actual deed from the people she purchased it from when the previous owner's bought it back in 1947 (which is in her possesion yet). She currently has a mortgage on the home and before we can re-finance it we want this straightened out. We did find the record of a (power A Sat) located in the archives at the courthouse concerning the purchase but it has no property shown. It seems that there was a power of attorney concerning the previous owners and his name is listed on this form as a grantee,but his name is also recorded as a grantor along with my mother-in-law and now deceased father-in-law names. So we would like to know exactly what this form means and how we can go about getting the deed recorded? Thank you.


