Virginia | Real Estate Law
Legal Question
When my mother-in-law became ill, my husband and I paid her mortgage for two months. When she passed away, we moved into the home and continued paying the mortgage in the estate of:. How do we go about getting the mortgage transferred to our names?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Michael E. Hendrickson |
The estate which likely includes this home will need to be probated either via a valid will executed by the deceased or through the intestacy laws of the Commonwealth (Va. Code Sec. 64.1-1).
If your husband is the nearest relative of his now deceased mother, he could go to the probate division of the circuit court of the locality involved and depending upon whether there is a valid will which appoints him as executor--or no such will---apply for letters of administration to probate the estate as either executor or administrator (no will) as may be appropriate.
Ownership of the home then would be conveyed during this process to whomever might be considered legally entitled to it under Virginia inheritance laws, and, with the approval of the lender, the new owner's name substituted for the name of the deceased on the mortgage/deed of trust as the new mortgagor. |
Top Attorneys in VA
Attorney & Counsellor at Law
Alexandria,
Questions Answered: 20726
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Chung & Press, P.C.
Mclean, VA
Questions Answered: 2361
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
Moseley & Associates Law Firm
Reston, VA
Questions Answered: 641
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-18
Chung & Press, P.C.
Cumberland, MD
Questions Answered: 103
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-05
Regency Legal Clinic
Virginia Beach, VA
Questions Answered: 102
Last Question Aswered on: 2001-09-08
The Law Office of Susan E. Allen, PLLC
Richmond, VA
Questions Answered: 96
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-07-23
Dunlap, Grubb & Weaver, PLLC
Leesburg, VA
Questions Answered: 95
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-08-20
Law Offices of Robert Beatson, II
Potomac, MD
Questions Answered: 88
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-04-21
Durrette, Irvin & Bradshaw, P.L.C.
Richmond, VA
Questions Answered: 84
Last Question Aswered on: 2003-02-12
Sawyer & Azarcon, P.C.
Fairfax, VA
Questions Answered: 82
Last Question Aswered on: 2006-11-17
Search Questions and Answers


