Oregon | Wills and Trusts
Legal Question
If my Mothers "Will" cannot be found or disclosed, Who is entitled to her estate?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Lillian Suelzle Watson |
The state of Oregon has a default inheritance order. If your Mother was married, it may go partially to her spouse. If she has children, it could be that each one of them is entitled to a part of her property. This is a complicated question and the real issue is actually what property does she have to divide. If she did not have accounts or property, it may be that it is only personal property which would not warrant opening a probate. An estate action actually transfers ownership of property to your mother's heirs. I recommend that you speak to an attorney in your area to see what steps should be taken or go to your local courthouse and get paperwork for a small estate affidavit which may be all you need. |
Top Attorneys in OR
TheCorporateAttorneys.com
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 292
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Law Offices of Keith Knochel
Bullhead City, AZ
Questions Answered: 145
Last Question Aswered on: 2004-06-25
Svitek Law Group, LLC
Portland, OR
Questions Answered: 104
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-02-22
Aiken, St. Louis & Siljeg, P.S.
Seattle, WA
Questions Answered: 100
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-06-22
Law Office of Noel Snyder
Portland, OR
Questions Answered: 44
Last Question Aswered on: 2005-06-11
Gresham Family & Bankruptcy Law
Gresham, OR
Questions Answered: 40
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-08
Happe Reid, PC
Fair Oaks, CA
Questions Answered: 38
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-17
Steven Parker Law Office
Portland, OR
Questions Answered: 34
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-04-22
Proctor & Popia, LLC
Beaverton, OR
Questions Answered: 29
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-09-27
Law Office of Aaron M. Davis
Novato, CA
Questions Answered: 29
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-05-27
Search Questions and Answers


