Virginia | Real Estate Law
Legal Question
If you move out and break a lease due to nonpayment and they rent it again with 2weeks can they still charge you2 months rent for breaking the lease
If you move out and break a lease due to nonpayment and they rent it again with 2weeks can they still charge you2 months rent for breaking the lease
|
Read More Answered By: Michael E. Hendrickson |
Yes, but if they sue you because you refuse to pay it, your defense might be that their actual damages are less due to their apparent prompt reletting of the unit. |
Alexandria,
Questions Answered: 20730
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Mclean, VA
Questions Answered: 2361
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
Reston, VA
Questions Answered: 641
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-18
Cumberland, MD
Questions Answered: 103
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-05
Virginia Beach, VA
Questions Answered: 102
Last Question Aswered on: 2001-09-08
Richmond, VA
Questions Answered: 96
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-07-23
Leesburg, VA
Questions Answered: 95
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-08-20
Potomac, MD
Questions Answered: 88
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-04-21
Richmond, VA
Questions Answered: 84
Last Question Aswered on: 2003-02-12
Fairfax, VA
Questions Answered: 82
Last Question Aswered on: 2006-11-17
► The wife's mother was living with us and had a storage shed put up in my back yard.....
► If I foreclose on my property in Virginia, can my mortgage company freeze my...
► Should a 250 unit Condominium Association be incorporated in the State of Virginia?
► We are purchasing a home. The mortgage company did not give us a choice in...
► Is there a conflict of interest for a mortgage company to use an in house or...
► Standard medical condo deposits in Virginia? Specifically in the pre built time...
► If someone builds a on your property does the land that is on there side of the...
More Real Estate and Real Property questions and answers in Virginia| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press