Illinois | Landlord & Tenant Law
We just moved into a rental house at the beginning of the month. Since moving in we have had several plumbing issues with water backing up and flooding our basement. The last time the basement flooded, (6th occurance of flooding) I walked into raw sewage in the basement. We ended up calling a plumber out to rout out the blockage. They left an estimate for the landlord to fix the problem. Of course, he doesn't like the company we called and it sounds like he isn't going to properly fix the problem. So now we are having to place our used toilet paper in a garbage can for fear we will plug the drain again and back sewage up. With two small children in our house, this is not something that can go unfixed nor can we afford to pay for it and try to take him to court to get the money back.
What are our rights as tenants to make him fix this problem?


