California | Entertainment Law
Legal Question
i was in a movie can company sell my image for a violent video game I do not endorce? And can they use my image if I do not approve
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Jim Betinol |
It depends. In California, one is prohibited from using another's name and likeness for a commercial purpose without consent. Under this rule the company who you initially granted to film you should have acquired certain permissions from you during the shooting of the film. In order for the company to repurpose that footage of you, they can only do so with your permission. For this reason, you will have to review your initially agreement with them to see whether the permission you gave them was limited to the initial project or whether the permission was broad in such that they can repurpose the footage for other projects.
Additionally, the requirement on whether they need your approval as to the subject matter in which your footage will be associated with, will also depend on the terms of your initially agreement with them.
I would recommend you have an attorney review your agreement to see what options you have. Should you have any questions, feel free to contact me.
Goodluck, Jim
Jim Betinol Partner Withrow and Betinol Law www.wibelaw.com E: betinol@wibelaw.com P: 424.229.2560 F: 424.258.7001
Disclaimer: This communication does not create an attorney-client relationship and such a relationship can only be formed through a signed written agreement. This communication is not legal advice and should not be solely relied upon in making your legal decisions. Any situation depends on many different facts and specific laws that require an in-depth legal consultation to evaluate the best solution for your needs.
|
Top Attorneys in CA
The Law Office of Daniel Bakondi, APLC
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 1146
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-03
San Diego Law Office
San Diego And Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Donner & Donner
Westlake Village, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-11
Law Offices of Robert D. Kane, Jr.
Eagan, MN
Questions Answered: 548
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Law Office of Jonas M. Grant, A.P.C.
Woodland Hills, CA
Questions Answered: 362
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-10-24
Knisbacher Law Offices
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 353
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-05-19
Keith E. Cooper, Esq.
West Hollywood, CA
Questions Answered: 320
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-05
TheCorporateAttorneys.com
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 292
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
M.E.T.A.L. Law Group LLP - Los Angeles Entertainment Attorneys
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 224
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-20
Withrow and Betinol Law
Santa Monica, CA
Questions Answered: 147
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Search Questions and Answers


