California  |  Disability Law

question bubble
8/05/11, 6:32 pm

Legal Question


Mr. Nelson: Your response greatly appreciated but unfortunately not quite on point. I know that I must show I'm a student to park on the college lots. What I don't know is: (emphasis added)

" . . . with a valid state issued handicapped parking placard, Under ADA IS IT LEGAL FOR A COMMUNITY COLLEGE TO DEMAND THAT I PROVIDE MY VEHICLE MAKE/MODEL AND LICENSE PLATE NUMBER before allowing me to park on college property with my placard displayed?" Unlike a handicapped license plate, a handicapped placard is issued to a person, not a vehicle, yes?

Thanks very much in advance

Answer (1 of 1)

Yes, if the lot owner restricts access to students only, and most do by 'permit', you have to prove you are a student to park there, with or without handicap placard.

Terry A. Nelson


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search