California | Civil Rights Law
Legal Question
Do I have any obligation to submit to a DUI checkpoint field sobriety test if I am not licensed to drive in California or in any other state?
Do I have any obligation to submit to a DUI checkpoint field sobriety test if I am not licensed to drive in California or in any other state?
|
Read More Answered By: Michael Stone |
You don't have to submit to a DUI field sobriety test at all. If you were arrested or cited for driving without a license, or for DUI for that matter, these are misdemeanor crimes, and you should seriously consider hiring legal counsel at once to defend the case to prevent serious consequences such as probation, fines, jail time, restrictions on your driving privilege, and a permanent criminal record that could impair your job prospects for years to come. |
|
Read More Answered By: Terry A. Nelson |
You should if requested by police, and were driving or riding a bike at the check point, or even walking if they think you were under the influence. Refusal would be 'contempt of cop' punishable by being charged with something in order to take you to jail. You do not have to submit to a blood alcohol test, and the police can not make you under most conditions, but you will automatically lose your license for a year if you refuse that, and the refusal is also likely to be 'contempt of cop'.
If you were arrested or charged with any crime, the proper questions are, can any evidence obtained in a test, search or confession be used against you, can you be convicted, and what can you do? If you don't know how to represent yourself effectively against an experienced prosecutor intending to convict, then hire an attorney that does, who will try to get a dismissal, diversion program, reduction, or other decent outcome through plea bargain, or take it to trial if appropriate.
If serious about hiring counsel to help in this, and if this is in SoCal courts, feel free to contact me. |
Huntington Beach, CA
Questions Answered: 13885
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 6347
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
San Diego And Las Vegas, CA
Questions Answered: 2000
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 1146
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-03
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 983
Last Question Aswered on: 2006-04-19
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 660
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-07
San Diego And Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 430
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-13
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 353
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-05-19
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 292
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
► I've been staying with a friend on and off for the past 3 years, who is male. In the...
► Can someone kick me and my family out, just because im a homosexual? The person that...
► I am doing a Science Experiment, that requires us to set things on fire. This things...
► The police came to my house when my girlfriend called them because I was intoxicated...
► I was arrested 0n 2009 for felony 484/487 and after i went to the trail on 10/27...
► Several years ago a friend of mine took a walk (not on drugs, not drinking). It was...
► I was arrested in a hotel the day after I had to give my home back to the bank due...
More Civil Rights Law questions and answers in California| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press