California | Family Law
Legal Question
How do I obtain a divorce in a confidential marriage? My husband and I have not lived together or even spoken for ten years. I do not know his whereabouts
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Douglas A. Crowder |
If you want to be single, you will have to obtain a divorce. Your husband will have to be "served" (meaning given notice of the divorce proceedings) Since you don't know his whereabouts, he can be served by publication.
The whole procedure for filing the divorce, getting your husband served by publication, and then getting the divorce finalized, will take a minimum of 6 months, and may take longer, depending on the court's backlog.
Douglas A. Crowder, Esq. Crowder Law Center 350 S. Figueroa Street # 190 Los Angeles, CA 90071 Tel. 800-455-1592 Fax 877-772-7094 |
Top Attorneys in CA
Libris Solutions - Dispute Resolution Services
Walnut Creek, CA
Questions Answered: 10413
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Lyle W. Johnson Attorney at Law
San Jose, CA
Questions Answered: 6614
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Law Office of Anthony A. Roach
Tarzana, CA
Questions Answered: 5434
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-16
Law Office Of Patrick L. McCrary
La Mesa, CA
Questions Answered: 2217
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Law Offices of Phillip C. Lemmons
Fountain Valley, CA
Questions Answered: 1776
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-04-15
Law Office Of Robert McCoy
Ontario, CA
Questions Answered: 1584
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-04
James E. Smith Ltd.
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 1456
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Law Office of Brian Don Levy
Covina, CA
Questions Answered: 1088
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-01-21
Donald R. Holben & Associates, APC
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 983
Last Question Aswered on: 2006-04-19
Law Offices James Chau
San Jose, CA
Questions Answered: 977
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-27
Search Questions and Answers


