Oregon | Wills and Trusts
Legal Question
does the oldest sibling receive the inheritance if there is no will?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Lillian Suelzle Watson |
If one of your parents died and your parent did not have a will their property or "estate" can be divided different ways. But a simple answer to your question is that all of your parent's children, whether from marriage or born outside of marriage, would be entitled for a share of the property not just the oldest child. If your parent was married to someone other than your parent, that individual would also be entitled to a share of their property. The state of Oregon has a default inheritance provision that would apply. This is not as simple of a question as you might think and you should seek legal counsel in your area. If you can't find an attorney near you, call the Oregon State bar for the name of an attorney to review the specifics of your family members. |
Top Attorneys in OR
Legal Consultant
Bangalore,
Questions Answered: 416
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
TheCorporateAttorneys.com
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 289
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Law Offices of Keith Knochel
Bullhead City, AZ
Questions Answered: 145
Last Question Aswered on: 2004-06-25
Svitek Law Group, LLC
Portland, OR
Questions Answered: 104
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-02-22
Aiken, St. Louis & Siljeg, P.S.
Seattle, WA
Questions Answered: 100
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-06-22
Law Office of Noel Snyder
Portland, OR
Questions Answered: 44
Last Question Aswered on: 2005-06-11
Gresham Family & Bankruptcy Law
Gresham, OR
Questions Answered: 40
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-08
Happe Reid, PC
Fair Oaks, CA
Questions Answered: 38
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-17
Steven Parker Law Office
Portland, OR
Questions Answered: 34
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-04-22
Proctor & Popia, LLC
Beaverton, OR
Questions Answered: 29
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-09-27
Search Questions and Answers


