Arizona | Business Law
Legal Question
I am opening a second hand store in az. are second hand good taxable
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Donald W. Hudspeth |
Regarding your new business selling second hands goods: I am not a tax lawyer or expert but I believe that as long as you are selling retail (and not wholesale) then you will need to collect tax. The test is: Is someone collecting tax on that good? If not you, who? Wholesalers can avoid the tax because the tax will be collected at retail. Say, for example, I had a Phoenix business - a store selling new and used lawnmowers. Would I have to collect sales tax on the sale of a used lawnmower or lawn tractor? Probably Yes. In any case, when in doubt apply for the state and city license. It is relatively easy to do and they can answer your questions. If you do not need to file a monthly report then just don't, but it would be odd to have a business without the license on the wall. This firm has a person whose job it is to answer tax questions and get your licenses, if needed. The fee is included in the charge for getting the licenses(s). As you might imagine the rules change buy city, so can be confusing. After you get started you will need help (more than you know) in building your "legal brick house." This can be done at relatively low cost and has huge benefits. "Business law for business owners." is what we do. Good luck in your new business! Many of our clients are business start-ups. Law Offices of Donald W. Hudspeth, P.C. 3030 North Central Avenue, Suite 604 Phoenix, Arizona 85012 Direct DWH@azbuslaw.com AzBusConsulting@aol.com Firm TheFirm@azbuslaw.com Ph 602.265.7997 Fax 602.265.6099 Web site www.azbuslaw.com
|
Top Attorneys in AZ
Donald T. Scher & Associates, P.C.
Phoenix, AZ
Questions Answered: 1356
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
PALOMINO LAW FIRM, P.C.
Phoenix, AZ
Questions Answered: 411
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-14
The Law Offices of Donald W. Hudspeth, P.C.
Phoenix, AZ
Questions Answered: 311
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-01
TheCorporateAttorneys.com
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 289
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Warren R. Markowitz, Esq
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 245
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-05
zimmermann nielsen & colleagues
Mesa, AZ
Questions Answered: 148
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-28
Law Offices of Keith Knochel
Bullhead City, AZ
Questions Answered: 145
Last Question Aswered on: 2004-06-25
Private Practise
Mumbai, NUS
Questions Answered: 114
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-01-19
Lance S. Davidson, P.C.
Scottsdale, AZ
Questions Answered: 68
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-06-07
Law Office of Scott W. Hyder, PLC
Phoenix, AZ
Questions Answered: 52
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-08
Search Questions and Answers


