Georgia | Tax Law
Legal Question
If you owe money to the IRS and then you get married, can they go after your new spouse for money that you owed prior to your marriage?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Robert Thompson |
Yes and no. They cannot touch property titled in her name alone, or garnish her paycheck. However, they can place liens on jointly owned property, levy on joint bank accounts, and seize any tax refund due if you file jointly. |
Top Attorneys in GA
Scott B. Riddle, Attorney
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 5579
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
J. Robert Thompson Attorney
Decatur, GA
Questions Answered: 260
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-20
Reisman Law
Chattanooga, TN
Questions Answered: 68
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-06-01
Richard Alvoid, PA
Pensacola, FL
Questions Answered: 60
Last Question Aswered on: 2005-11-24
The Law Offices of Kendall W. Carter, LLC
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 58
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-04-18
Randall A. Lenz, Atty, CPA
Atlanta, NA
Questions Answered: 35
Last Question Aswered on: 2004-05-23
Etheriedge & Associates, PC
Cumming, GA
Questions Answered: 34
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-05
The Berggren Law Firm, LLC
Marietta, GA
Questions Answered: 4
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-01-31
Gerard Linder, LLC
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 1
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-07-30
Search Questions and Answers


