California | Civil Litigation
Legal Question
I am the owner of a small business on a street which was renovated using Measure B funds. The road work was extensive and took many months to complete because of delays, poor planning and execution by the City and their contractors. The work caused my business to suffer substantial loss of business because of the delay and by causing traffic (foot and vehicle) to be impeded/blocked from my location. Several other businesses suffered the same injuries and we all submitted claims to the city only to have them deny the claims without reasonable explaination. We are now placed into a situation where we must sue the city to get any satisfaction or to recover any lost revenue. We are all cash strapped and business is slowly coming back, but it could take months to fully recover. What should we do?


