You need to be sure whether there was a last will and testament. You have a right to this information. Otherwise the estate will be probated through intestacy and the following summary may assist you.
Share of surviving spouse
(a) General.- The share of a surviving spouse shall be as provided in this section.
(b) Surviving minor child.- If there is a surviving minor child, the share shall be one-half.
(c) No surviving minor child, but surviving issue.- If there is no surviving minor child, but there is surviving issue, the share shall be the first $15,000 plus one-half of the residue.
(d) No surviving issue, but surviving parent.- If there is no surviving issue but a surviving parent, the share shall be the first $15,000 plus one-half of the residue.
(e) No surviving issue or parent.- If there is no surviving issue or parent, the share shall be the whole estate.
(f) Calculation of net estate.- For the purposes of this section, the net estate shall be calculated without a deduction for the tax as defined in § 7-308 of the Tax-General Article.
Maryland Code, § 3-102