parents going into an assisted living facility. children's names have been on their house for years. Can the assisted living facility force the children to sell the home to pay for
the assited living ?
|
Read More Answered By: Elizabeth Schmitz |
If you are applying for Medicaid to assist in the payment of your parents' care they will look at all transfers within the past five years. If the trasnfer of the house occurred more than five years ago it will not be considered for Medicaid purposes. If the transfer was within five years then it may result in a penalty for Medicaid purposes.
It is best to consult with an attorney who handles elder law matters to review all the facts and circumstances before applying for Medicaid. |
Akron, OH
Questions Answered: 905
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-02-18
Green, OH
Questions Answered: 758
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-03-03
Columbus, OH
Questions Answered: 547
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-03
Bangalore,
Questions Answered: 421
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Twinsburg, OH
Questions Answered: 260
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-21
Cleveland, OH
Questions Answered: 225
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-07-08
Beachwood, OH
Questions Answered: 143
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-03
Hamilton, OH
Questions Answered: 101
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-25
Westlake, OH
Questions Answered: 74
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-09
Cleveland, OH
Questions Answered: 74
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-10-25
► My mom needs to be in a nursing home, I just can't take care of her anymore. She has...
► My Aunt recently passed away. She was taking care of my Uncle who is her brother in...
► If an elderly lady enters a nursing home and has a grown grandson in the home, (...
► My ex-husband died in 2007. He had been on Medicaid when he died. It was first...
► My mother and sister received a notification in the mail stating that a hearing will...
► My mother recently moved to a assisted living facilty from her Michigan home to an...
► I want to change the executor but my daughter will not give it up .How do i get it...
More Elder Law questions and answers in Ohio| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press