California  |  Wills and Trusts

question bubble
1/17/12, 12:26 pm

Legal Question


My parents set up a revocable trust in 1992 in the state of Utah where they resided. My father passed in 2003 and my mother in 2011. Their wills point to the trust.

I am named as the grantor (upon death of the other grantors) in the document, but since I wasn't married yet, my maiden name is listed. Will I need to show proof of my marriage when taking legal actions (buying/selling/distributing property in the trust) and settling my parent's debts? Also, will I need to set up a separate bank account to do so? I have already received some checks (refunds for premiums paid, etc...) made out to "the estate of ....".

Thanks-

Amber Martinez


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search