California  |  Health Care Law

question bubble
10/25/11, 10:03 pm

Legal Question


For the past couple weeks, I've put in several requests to my internist's office to review my medical file & have been repeatedly denied. Today, my husband & I spoke with the office manager who said she doesn't have the staff to sit with me while I review my file. So, I requested copies of my doctor's notes & correspondence from the specialists to whom my internist had referred me. The office manager claimed I am not entitled to to see or get copies of any letters from specialists even though they are in my file. The specialists include a gastroenterologist, urologist, cardiologist, etc. None have anything to do with mental health. Is the doctor's office legally permitted to keep this information from the patient? If I do have a right to these documents, how do I obtain copies? Is it worth speaking to an attorney?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search