New York | Elder Law
Legal Question
do i have to pay my moms credit cards when she passes
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Paula McGill |
If the credit card is in your mother's name and you are not the guarantor or co-signor on the credit card, no you are not personally liable for the credit card debt; her estate is liable.
If you are the administrator of the estate, you have the responsibility of collecting her assets, and paying her liabilities from those assets based upon the law and the will (if any). Even as the administrator, if there are insufficient assets to pay for her liabilities, you are not liable as long as you follow the law.
Of course, creditors try to guilt families of decedents into paying debts. Unfortunately, survivors sometimes fall for their lies. Force them to write the loss off if your mother has insufficient assets.
Paula J. McGill 1225 Franklin Avenue Suite 325 Garden City, NY 11530 (516)491-4610 |
Top Attorneys in NY
David L. Leon, P.C.
Dallas, TX
Questions Answered: 1828
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Law Office of Locksley O. Wade
New York, NY
Questions Answered: 1703
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-27
Law Office of David Watkins
Closter, NJ
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Law Office of Mark S. Moroknek *
Syosset, NY
Questions Answered: 1173
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-24
Law Offices of Jason Stern
New York, NY
Questions Answered: 744
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Paula McGill Attorney at Law
Bethesda, MD
Questions Answered: 577
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-11
Jeffrey A. Lazroe attorney at law
Buffalo, NY
Questions Answered: 564
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-07-14
Calcagno & Associates, PLLC
Staten Island, NY
Questions Answered: 381
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-08-09
Rosenberg & Press L.L.C.
Stratford, CT
Questions Answered: 335
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-11-24
Of Counsel, Sarisohn Law Partners
Commack, NY
Questions Answered: 274
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-27
Search Questions and Answers


