Alaska  |  Telecomm Law

question bubble
2/21/11, 10:38 am

Legal Question


Can payphones be required by law in public places? Currently, in our town, almost all of the payphones are gone. This creates a safety hazard at worst, an inconvenience at best, and could be part of a strategy to herd consumers into signing up for cell phone service out of desperation. Can our Alaska state legislature make a law requiring the phone companies to provide a minimum number of payphones? Is this only for the FCC to deal with?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search