Indiana | Real Estate Law
Legal Question
I have a peculiar situation. I have for years paid someone $1000 a month for what i believed was house payments on a house that was badly in need of major work in order for someone to live in it. It took 30 months to get it there. Now there is a dispute in which the person I have paid $37,ooo to claims it was all for rent. Can I in this case get my money back for all the 'rent' paid for the months I can prove the house was not inhabitable by county standards.? I can back it up with official paperwork from county inspectors passing it a full 2 years after we entered into an agreement. I understand you cannot legally rent a house that is uninhabitable, so under this rule am I entitled to my money back? There is a contract he wrote up himself, which as it turns out, does say in heavily coded terms that I was renting from him. The situation is about to go to court.


